Almyta Systems Homepage
Forum Home Forum HomeSBS and AID Software packagesSBS/AID Inventory Control
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Inventory Reconcilliation with a portable device
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

This site is dedicated to Almyta Systems Inventory Software

Inventory Reconcilliation with a portable device

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Gypsy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Nov 2012
Location: NE Fla
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gypsy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Inventory Reconcilliation with a portable device
    Posted: 02 Nov 2012 at 12:04pm
  To do Inventory counts with a laptop or portable device what is the recommended best practice ?  Can one work in excel on the portable and import data as a comma delimited file back into AID to update the inventory counts ? will this add the new data or overwrite the records and destroy the  database history for reports/transactions etc.  Any suggestions or work arounds  ?
                           Cheers and many thanks
Back to Top
BillD View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 01 Jul 2011
Location: Nevada, US
Points: 474
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BillD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Nov 2012 at 11:24am

The AID is not really an application for the warehousing. It does not have cycle count functionality.

 

Go to the Configuration/My Company, Storage Locations menu. Click the Add New button and add LOST location. Go to the Activities/Item Master menu, Units in Stock tab, click the blue grid button, and make Serial 2 visible.

 

If you have wireless laptop on your network, you can install AID on it and link to your networked company. Go to the Reports/Inventory, Units in Stock and use browse to view it on screen. Sort it by Location. Count items in location. If it does not match, double-click the Item ID to go to the Item Master, switch to the Units in Stock, and change location of lost units to the LOST. If you found an item in location, which database does not know about, pull up the record on the Item Master, and go to the Units in Stock. Check if inventory in the LOST location. If yes, change to a proper location. If no, add a new record at the bottom. Type in FOUND in serial 2 field.

 

At the end, run Units in Stock report twice: one for location LOST and another for serial 2 FOUND. Reconcile the differences. After this, if you still have something left in the location LOST, adjust it down. You can create a special adjustment code for it such as Lost or CycleNov12.

 

If you do not have wireless laptop, you can print Units in Stock report sorted by location, do the counts, mark on paper losts and founds, return to the office, and reconcile on the computer.

Back to Top
Gypsy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Nov 2012
Location: NE Fla
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gypsy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Nov 2012 at 3:16pm
Outstanding -  Simple and elegant solution ,
              Thanks very much  !
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10
Copyright ©2001-2011 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 2.703 seconds.