Almyta Systems Homepage
Forum Home Forum HomeAlmyta Control System (ACS) and ABC InventoryInstallation, Updates, Technical Issues
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ABC Inventory Bug Reports Module
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

This site is dedicated to Almyta Systems Inventory Software

ABC Inventory Bug Reports Module

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
ARRC View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Sep 2015
Location: Maryland
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ARRC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ABC Inventory Bug Reports Module
    Posted: 29 Feb 2016 at 3:14pm
Have been using ABC Inventory for about 8 months now keeping track of inventory for a vending machine business.  I normally just use the standard reports with filters as needed.  Now I decided to set up a filter for one of the reports to save for monthly report stats.  Unfortunately the save filter and load filter function do not work.

When I set my filter elements and click the save filter button, it opens to the default report location.  A default name is displayed.  I tried using a new more descriptive name and hitting the save button and the new named file is saved to the report folder but it has no file extension.  If I look at the folder, the file is there; but without an extension it can't be opened.  However, if I add a txt extension it will open as a text file with a bunch of parameters that I can read.  However, if I remove the txt extension and click on the load filter button, the reports folder opens with the message "No items match your search".  The file is actually there but it can't be displayed because it has no extension or way of finding the report filter file.  I can't believe I'm the first user to notice this bug.
Back to Top
Debra View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 22 Aug 2011
Points: 573
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Debra Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mar 2016 at 6:59am

It is something about your Windows Login Name. The extension consists of two parts and looks like this ARRC--####. The ARRC is the user's login and the #### is a report ID in the database. You either have no login or have an "invalid" character in the your login.  

Please open Windows Explorer, go to the folder where the filters are saved, give me an example of any extension.

BTW, after using free software  for 8 months, leaving a negative comment on youtube tutorial does not make one a good person.

Back to Top
ARRC View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Sep 2015
Location: Maryland
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ARRC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2016 at 2:42pm
Per your request here is the file name that was stored in the Reports folder by simply clicking on the "Save Filters" button using the Inventory Position Snapshot report form.

Inventory_Position_Snapshot.vegan dan--3032.vegan dan--3032.vegan dan--3032

As you can see, the file is stored without a file extension.  If I manually add a .txt extension to the file, it becomes readable as a 21 line CSV file.  But the software still doesn't recognize it as a saved filter file.

One of my stored favorites reports files is listed in the same directory as vegan dan--4409.txt.  There are eight of these files with different four digit endings.

If the login has an invalid character I would speculate that it is the space between vegan and dan from my user name.  However, if that is the issue, then why do all the other favorited files work?

Perhaps some additional documentation is needed to explain this issue if a specific file format is required to make this feature of the software work.  Apparently you can't just rename the file to something like EOM Inventory Position.txt and have the software recognize it as a saved filter.

My YouTube comment was not a negative evaluation of the software.  Just an observation that this particular feature was/is not working and has no value if it doesn't work.  The purpose of a bug report is to alert the program developers of an issue that would assist in improving the product.

Back to Top
Debra View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 22 Aug 2011
Points: 573
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Debra Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2016 at 3:39pm

Not sure what the problem is. It could be something with a free app. The commercial one does not have any issues of this kind. The extension has to be .vegan dan--3032 

The name  could be Inventory_Position_Snapshot or more specific, like  "Inventory_Position_Snapshot_ 2016". The 3032 is a report ID in the database.

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10
Copyright ©2001-2011 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.172 seconds.